Other Haven Blogs

The truth will set you free but first it will piss you off.

Gloria Steinem

In case you are curious, here are links to other Haven blogs:

http://haven.ca/stay-connected/news

http://tobymacklin.com/

http://susanbclarke.com/

They will never link to me. I like to be fair though. I may lack the popularity and platform, but my comment section is unmoderated. Perhaps there is nothing to moderate but that doesn’t change the fact that I set it up as unmoderated. No idea is too challenging for me to look at. The same is not true of Haven. Of course I have the advantage of having nothing to sell. Selling salvation or personal growth is a dangerous game. One that is designed to crumble. My life has become Snakes and Ladders. They seem to unknowingly be playing Jenga.

For the record, I said it first. If awareness is key, perhaps there should be some awareness. You are in the game of selling salvation. That game seldom ends well. Every time I move forward I am set back, but it is impossible for me to crumble. Jenga is Wall Street. It will crumble. Accountability is the only measure to protect that.

It used to bother me that I was putting myself in a position where I was hated by so many. This is less and less true. If the point is to be ruthlessly honest–the main claim made–how could what I have done be so loathed?

I wasn’t loathed before (mostly) but I was loved the way one loves a pet. I was the hero’s prop. I was the blank canvas for projection of any sort. I was sold.

Perhaps I have left out the most obvious quote of all… I was there when the kids put on Les Miserables…

You’d better run for cover when the pup grows up!

Leave a Reply

