Borders

It is harder to kill a phantom than a reality.

Virginia Woolf

By the way, there is one Haven memory I have keep meaning to write…

Standing outside the door of a leader’s room. You don’t have to just stand there, you can come in, she said…

I stood part way between, the glass door half way open, one foot on the ledge. I stayed there.

On the border between Canada and the States, an officer asked if the man driving really was my dad. He asked me directly, clearly suspicious.

I paused. I paused just for long enough to write a story. But I said yes.

I have been on those borders for a long time, never having the courage to even ask which side I wanted to be on but which side would take me.

I paused as a way to say, I know the script but it is not mine.

I have stood on other ledges too. Borderline, the personality, used to mean the border between psychosis and neurosis.

I tried to jump off that one but alas, madness was less for me than I thought. I was trained that madness was a skill and may be the only one offered to me at birth. That it was a skill that was highly rewarded.

The pause always says the most.

Referring to borderline will ultimately give people the wrong idea but I have already jumped off that one, that one that knows better than to write too much that others will misinterpret.

But still says too little. Or too much in pauses.

Leave a Reply

